Just Jelly

Happy Monday! I know it’s been awhile, and for that I apologize. I’ve missed you, and I do hope you’ll forgive me for my absence. 😉

Today we head back to the National Aquarium to take a closer look at  jellyfish. Contrary to popular belief, jellyfish don’t just float along with the ocean currents, but rather pulse their umbrella-shaped bell to move in any direction. Their stinging tentacles are used to capture prey; in fact, some jellyfish have tentacles up to 100 feet long! Existing in every ocean, they’ve been around for over 500 million years, which makes them the oldest multi-organ animal. Pretty darn cool if you ask me!

Thanks for stopping by today! Please feel free to leave a little “hello” down below, as I always love to hear from you! 🙂

This entry was posted in Animals, Black and White, Personal, Travel, Uncategorized, Water and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Just Jelly

  1. Len says:

    Nice series of images Erin. You picked a great subject. I always head to the jellyfish tanks to shoot when I visit aquariums.

  2. Hello and welcome back Erin. Terrific shots. I was just at the Monterey Bay Aquarium and was mesmerized by the jellyfish.

  3. Hi Erin, welcome back! What a lovely series of images, and info!! 🙂

  4. Love the colors and shapes that all come to life from these really interesting creatures! Great series, Erin, it’s fabulous to see you back!!

  5. What an outstanding collection!

Leave a Reply

