Above the Surface

One of the things I love most about the National Aquarium is its variety. Yes, I love the sea stars, fish, and all the other creatures that live in the ocean, but it’s just as fun to see other animals as well! As soon as you step through the doors into their Upland Tropical Rain Forest exhibit, you hear the many species of birds calling to each other. You notice their brightly-colored plumage, and feel the brush of their wings as they fly past you. If you look closely, you might even notice some Golden Lion Tamarin monkeys or a Two-Toed Sloth in the trees. I’ve been to the National Aquarium about a dozen times, and I’ve yet to spot all the species of birds–guess I’ll have to keep going back! πŸ™‚

In addition to the Upland Rainforest, you can also visit Australia: Wild Extremes. I hadn’t yet seen this exhibit since it opened in 2005, but I can certainly understand why it won the “Best Exhibit” award from the AZA in 2008. There’s a lot to see, including freshwater crocodiles, turtles, snakes, lizards and birds. There’s even a Laughing Kookaburra; Australia’s national symbol who makes a sound I won’t likely forget!

Thanks for stopping by today and I hope you have a most excellent weekend!

This entry was posted in Animals, Personal, Photo of the Day, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Above the Surface

  1. Jimi Jones says:

    Wonderful shots, Erin. Really like the Emerald Boa with that intense green color.
    Shamefully, I haven’t been to the Aquarium in a few years but I am motivated for another visit after seeing your work here. πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful images Erin! I love that Boa!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

