Vintage Oak

The Angel Oak Tree in Charleston, SC.

“Vintage Oak” – The Angel Oak Tree in Charleston, SC.

The Angel Oak Tree is located on Johns Island just outside of Charleston, SC. According to the website dedicated to this magnificent southern live oak, it is about 400-500 years old, stands nearly 70 feet tall, has a circumference of 28 feet and shades an area over 17,000 square feet.

Knowing that this is one of the oldest living things in America, I wanted to produce an image with a vintage feel. I can only imagine the things it has seen and the stories it would tell. It has stood fast through countless historic events such as the American Revolution and Civil War, and weathered many storms including the Category 5 Hurricane Hugo, which ravaged the Charleston area in 1989.

“Storms make the oak grow deeper roots.” – George Herbert

Thanks for stopping by today and I hope you enjoyed today’s post! As always, I love hearing your thoughts! 🙂

This entry was posted in Charleston, Landscape, Photo of the Day, Quotes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Vintage Oak

  1. John S. Mead says:

    I LOVE this tree! It’s such a great iconic sight. I am eager to get to see it again as the first time I ever saw it was before I got hooked on photography! Superb interpretation!

  2. Len says:

    These old trees are amazing Erin. Nice job with the processing on this image. I live about 2 miles from the largest tree in CT (not sure how they know that exactly) but maybe I should go out and photograph it.

  3. What a gorgeous tree. I have to get out to SC one of these days. Well done Erin.

  4. What an incredible tree, Erin, just perfectly captured here!

Leave a Reply

