Shiny Happy Hummingbird

A hummingbird visits a butterfly bush in upstate NY.

“Shiny Happy Hummingbird” – A female Ruby-Throated Hummingbird visits a butterfly bush in upstate NY.

Today’s photo comes from the village of Dexter, NY. Located near the Black River Bay (part of Lake Ontario), this town hosts many migratory birds including the Ruby-Throated Hummingbird. While they won’t be found that far north for another month or so, I wanted to share this little bird with you on this warm and humid Monday morning (at least that’s what it’s like here!)

Hummingbirds are known for being swift, resilient, light, independent and optimistic. But perhaps its their association with the overall enjoyment of life that draws me toward them. A self-proclaimed “shiny happy” person, I tend to photograph things that emulate my “cheerful nature.” That’s not to say I don’t enjoy photographing other subjects, but I think we all have our favorites, don’t we? Stay tuned for another one of my favorites to come on Wednesday!

Thanks for stopping by today! I hope you are having a great Monday, and as always, I love comments! 🙂

This entry was posted in Flowers, Personal, Photo of the Day, Portraits, Seasons, Spring, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shiny Happy Hummingbird

  1. Len Saltiel says:

    That is a great capture Erin. They are the hardest birds to photograph with the speed of their wings. Much better than my attempts (that is why I shoot landscapes).

Leave a Reply

