Mary’s Iris

With tomorrow being Maundy Thursday, a somber day in the Christian faith, I had difficulty finding an image to match the message I wanted to convey. On impulse, I searched for various symbols and meanings, hoping that I would come across something I’ve photographed in the past. I found one such thing.

Many of you have seen a lily as symbolic of both Mary and Jesus, noting their purity and innocence. However, have you ever heard of the iris representing Mary? Neither had I. Also known as the “sword lily,” the iris has blade-shaped leaves which remind us of the Seven Sorrows of Mary that “pierced her heart.”

34 Then Simeon blessed them and said to Mary, his mother: “This child is destined to cause the falling and rising of many in Israel, and to be a sign that will be spoken against, 35 so that the thoughts of many hearts will be revealed. And a sword will pierce your own soul too.”
– Luke 2: 34-35

The iris, a symbol of the Virgin Mary, blooms at Falls Park in Greenville, SC.

“Mary’s Iris” – The iris, a symbol of the Virgin Mary, blooms at Falls Park in Greenville, SC.

I chose this particular photo because it reminded me of Jesus on the cross. Call me crazy, but I see Him as the iris that towers above the rest, clinging to life above the others who have gathered below Him either to mourn or to watch Him perish. The flowers to the left are like the criminals who were put to death before Him. Does anybody else see that?

Thanks for stopping by today! I love to hear what you have to say, so feel free to leave a comment below!

This entry was posted in Flowers, Photo of the Day, Quotes, Seasons, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mary’s Iris

  1. Len says:

    Beautiful image Erin with great color. I see your imagery of the cross although I probably would have on my own.

  2. Beautifully written post and a wonderful photograph, as always, Erin. Purple is one of my favorite colors and the photo shows all of the color so vividly. Nice work!

  3. Nice post! “He” is so easily seen in Nature!

  4. Wonderful post and beautiful image Erin and excellent exposure.

Leave a Reply

