Slow Down, New York

In December of 2008, I visited the great city of New York for the first time. (You may remember my snow-filled images found here.) It was every bit as awe-inspiring, crowded, fast-paced and amazing as I could have hoped for.

My first view of NYC’s magnificent skyline was from Liberty State Park. Surprisingly–and happily so–it was all but deserted. Having never been there before, I can only imagine that it’s quite the rare occurrence. However that did present me with a unique opportunity to capture the skyline without fear of interrupted photos or “taking up valuable space.” We were alone, save for the handful of walkers and joggers that passed us by without a second look. It was a view and an experience I won’t soon forget.

A bench sits empty in Liberty State Park, overlooking the Hudson River and the NYC skyline.

A bench sits empty in Liberty State Park, overlooking the Hudson River and the NYC skyline.

I leave you with a quote from Nora Ephron, “I look out the window and I see the lights and the skyline and the people on the street rushing around looking for action, love, and the world’s greatest chocolate chip cookie, and my heart does a little dance.” My heart did a little dance at this, my first view of NYC, and I hope yours did too.

As always, I love comments and feedback, so drop me a line will ya? 🙂

This entry was posted in Black and White, Buildings, Photo of the Day, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow Down, New York

  1. Pingback: New York Blues | Pink Shamrock Photography

Leave a Reply

