Healthy & Happy – A Personal Story

As 2012 comes to a close, the internet is filled with “best of” blog posts ranging from favorite recipes to most “liked” photos. I’d like to take a different approach. 2012 was
a personal journey for me and it’s a journey many share. That journey is making a lifestyle change.

Before & After

Before & After

When 2012 began, I was out of shape, overweight, and unhappy with myself for being those things. With my personal trainer’s help (he’s also my husband!) I began eating healthier, exercising more, and focused on making changes that I could live with. I didn’t give up alcohol, dessert, or pizza. I simply made the commitment to being smarter. I track everything I consume on a free online nutrition tracker, even if it’s 3 gummy bears! I do strength training workouts 3-4 times a week, yoga whenever I feel like it, take walks, and in general try to spend more time moving and less time in front of the TV or computer. I’m now 37 pounds lighter but more importantly I’m healthier both inside and out. My confidence and energy levels have climbed steadily through the year, and I’m a much happier person for it.

Seriously?! I used to fit (snugly!) in those jeans?!?!

Seriously?! I used to fit (snugly!) in those jeans?!?!

I wanted to share this with you today because in addition to receiving many questions as to how I accomplished this change, I know there are a lot of you out there who have or want to change your lifestyle. I feel like the struggle with weight and health is a common bond with many of you, and I encourage you to find what works for you. It’s not about fitting into skinny jeans or weighing what you did in college. It’s about being a healthier, happier you!

I wish all of you a happy, healthy New Year and look forward to seeing you all in 2013!

As always, I love comments, so feel free to leave some love below! πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Personal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Healthy & Happy – A Personal Story

  1. Barbara says:

    And you look more beautiful than you ever have! I’m proud of you and I am also inspired. One of my friends who used to be a Weight Watchers leader wrote an article today about small changes in your life and I’m going to work on that starting with this new year. She suggested taking some small little stickers and putting a sticker on your calendar on those days when you accomplished your goal. She also suggested just making one small change that you felt you could live with until it became a habit with you before moving on to the next one. I know I would have more energy and feel less pain if I was at my goal weight. I am going to work on getting healthier so that I can enjoy the balance of my life on this earth. Thanks for the inspiration! You are truly a beautiful person, both inside and out and I love you.

    • It’s rare (as you know) that I can’t find the words to express my gratitude. Thank you for those amazing compliments! I agree that small steps are the way to go–they’re so much easier to stick with! While I think you’re perfect the way you are, I also know when you’re not happy with yourself it makes an enormous difference in your overall happiness. I wish nothing but healthy and happy things for you this year and know I will help you any way I can! Love you too, Aunt B! πŸ™‚

  2. John S. Mead says:

    Tremendous congratulations on your achievement! I”m honored to know you and your great photography. Thanks so much for being brave and sharing your story so that many of us can benefit! Here’s to an even more rewarding 2013!

Leave a Reply

