Pretty Things

I’m asked all the time, “What do you photograph?” It’s a hard question, believe it or not. I like to photograph “pretty things.” The beach. Sunrise and sunset. Flowers. Autumn foliage. Butterflies. Castles. But how do I explain to someone that I like to take pictures of “pretty things”? When you say it out loud, it sounds so ridiculous! So I end up using a lot of terms like “landscape,” “macro” and “nature.” Talk about boring! Every photographer who has ever existed has used those same terms!

“Pretty things” is more than just a term to me. It’s an opinion. And it changes all the time. That’s what makes photography so interesting. Today I might think bright blue skies and sunshine are beautiful. Tomorrow I may find a soft blanket of fog over an open field absolutely breathtaking.

To illustrate my point, here are a few personal favorites of photos I’ve taken:

I hope you enjoy these images as each one is quite special to me, and I’d love to hear what your favorite is. Feel free to leave a message for me; I love comments! 🙂

This entry was posted in Animals, Autumn, Black and White, Buildings, Butterflies, Charleston, Flowers, Foliage, Photo of the Day, Seasons, Spring, Sunrises, Sunsets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pretty Things

  1. Syb says:

    “Rest Awhile” is one of my all time favorites…so peaceful and inviting! 🙂

  2. A little bit of everything. 🙂

  3. Barbara says:

    My favorite has to be the cardinal in the snow. I have it in a very beautiful frame sitting on my TV stand under the TV so I can see it every day whether it’s winter or not!

  4. A.Barlow says:

    Pretty things indeed. The wine glass, the butterfly are my faves I think. After that it’s a toss up between NY and Blarny. All of’em are good though 🙂

  5. Adam Allegro says:

    Very Pretty! Lovely shots, Very good mix. I enjoy the wine because, well, I enjoy wine.

  6. kenncf says:

    Beautiful shots!

Leave a Reply

