Portrait of a Rose

Portrait of a Rose, Version 1

Portrait of a Rose

Portrait of a Rose, Version 2

Portrait of a Rose, Version 2

Here is the third installment of my monochrome flower portraits. One image is processed with a bit more contrast, the other with a bit less… but I can never decide which I like better! Some days I like the stronger contrast, other days I like the softer contrast. What do you think? 🙂

This entry was posted in Black and White, Flowers, Macro, Photo of the Day, Portraits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Portrait of a Rose

  1. Both images are pretty close, but the one on the right has a little more dramatic lighting, so it’s my favorite. It’s so difficult to keep a rose from looking muddy in black and white – kudos!

    If I might add a small critique without giving offense, the highlighted leaf? at the bottom of the image is pulling attention from the rose. If you burned the heck out of the highlight or cropped it slightly, we would focus more on the petal interaction and the center of the rose.

    Lovely image 🙂

  2. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

    I love the image! Though to the untrained eye the two images look very similar

  3. Mary, I’m always happy to receive critique! It’s important to hear what other photographers think and how I can improve. Thank you, perhaps I’ll work on it and repost my results! 🙂

    And thank you, Sukanya, for the compliment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

